2012 College Football

Sports Media Digest- September 7, 2012

NBC Sports College Football this Weekend-  NBC and the NBC Sports Network (NBCSN) will televise three college football games this Saturday. Beginning at 3:30p.m. ET Tom Hammond, Mike Mayock and Alex Flanagan will have the call on NBC as Notre Dame hosts Purdue.  Also at 3:30p.m. NBCSN will have coverage of Delaware and Delaware State with Todd Harris, Ross Tucker and Carolyn Manno at the mic.  Paul Burmeister, Rod Woodson and Anthony Herron will call Army at San Diego State at 7:30p.m. ET on NBCSN.  NBCSN will begin the day at 3:00p.m. ET with its College Football pre-game show with Liam McHugh, Doug Flutie and Hines Ward.

CBS NFL Action Available in Spanish- CBS has announced that all its 2012 NFL action, including Super Bowl XLVII, will be simulcast in Spanish via SAP.  Armando Quintero and Benny Ricardo will call the Super Bowl. Alfredo Bejar, Nelson Fernandez and Halim Zadat also will call games this season.

U.S. Open Men’s Semifinals Tomorrow on CBS–  CBS Sports will begin its coverage of the men’s semifinals tomorrow beginning at 11:00a.m. ET.  Bill Macatee will anchor the coverage as Andy Murray takes on Tomas Berdych followed by Novak Djokovic vs. David Ferrer.  CBS Sports Network will have the first hour of coverage before the action moves to CBS at Noon.  The women’s finals is slated for tomorrow at 7:00p.m. ET.

24/7 Chavez, Jr./Martinez Resumes Saturday on HBO– The second episode in the HBO Sports series 24/7 Chavez, Jr./Martinez will debut Saturday 12:30a.m. ET/PT.  The boxers will meet in the ring on September 15th.

ESPN Unveils College Football Announcing Teams

ESPN today released its list of announcer teams for the upcoming college football season.

The lead team will still consist of Brent Musburger and Kirk Herstreit on ABC Saturday Night Football.  Brad Nessler, Todd Blackledge and Holly Rowe will continue to work the Saturday ESPN College Football Primetime telecast.

Here are the changes and additions to this year’s crews (from ESPN PR):

  • Three new commentator teams will call ABC Saturday afternoon broadcasts:
  • Chris Spielman, an analyst on ESPN’s Saturday noon telecast, will pair up with Sean McDonough and reporter Quint Kessenich this season. Spielman and McDonough previously worked together on Saturday and Friday games from 2006-08.
  • Ed Cunningham, a Saturday afternoon game analyst for four years before taking on ESPN2’s Saturday night game last year, will work with Mike Patrick and reporter Jeannine Edwards.
  • Danny Kanell will move from an ESPNU night game to work with announcer Bob Wischusen, who returns to the ABC Saturday afternoon game, and new reporter Maria Taylor.
  • ESPN’s Thursday and Friday night games will also have familiar faces in new roles:
  • Analyst David Pollack and reporter Samantha Steele will join returning announcer Rece Davis and analyst Jesse Palmer on ESPN’s Thursday night game.
  • Carter Blackburn will move from Saturday games to call the weekly Friday series with returning analyst Rod Gilmoreand new sideline reporter Jemele Hill. Hill has been an ESPN.com national columnist where she has also appeared on ESPN television programs since 2006.
  • Joe Tessitore and Matt Millen will serve as the announcers for a new package of additional Saturday night games, primarily on ESPN. Shannon Spake or Shelley Smith will report from the sidelines. Tessitore previously worked Friday night games with Rod Gilmore while Matt Millen was the analyst on Saturday afternoon ABC games with Sean McDonough.
  • Each of the ESPN, ESPN2 and ESPNU Saturday noon telecasts will include new pairings:
  • Brian Griese and reporter Jenn Brown will join returning commentator Dave Pasch on ESPN’s noon game. Last year, Griese was the analyst on the ESPNU Saturday night telecast and Brown was the reporter on the Thursday ESPN College Football Primetime series.
  • New analyst Joey Galloway, a former Ohio State and NFL veteran wide receiver, will call ESPN2’s weekly noon series with returning commentator Beth Mowins.
  • The new announce team of Tom Hart and analyst John Congemi will work the ESPNU noon telecast. Congemi previously called ESPN Regional Television’s BIG EAST Network games and Hart is new to ESPN.
  • ESPN2 and ESPNU Saturday night telecasts will include analysts in new roles:
  • Brock Huard, who worked select ESPN and ABC Saturday games last season, will pair up with Mark Jones on a weekly ESPN2 prime-time game.
  • Matt Stinchcomb, an ESPNU studio analyst last year, will move to the ESPNU prime-time game with Clay Matvick and reporter Allison Williams.

Here is the list of announcer pairings for the 2012 college football season on the networks of ESPN and ABC:

Game Telecast Play-by-play Analyst Reporter
Saturday Night Football (on ABC) Brent Musburger Kirk Herbstreit TBA
ESPN College Football Primetime (Saturday) Brad Nessler Todd Blackledge Holly Rowe
ESPN Saturday Prime Time Joe Tessitore Matt Millen Jessica Mendoza, Shelley Smith or Shannon Spake
ESPN2 College Football Primetime (Saturday) Mark Jones Brock Huard Jessica Mendoza or Shelley Smith
ESPNU Saturday Prime Time Clay Matvick Matt Stinchcomb Allison Williams
ESPN College Football Primetime (Thursday) Rece Davis Jesse Palmer and David Pollack Samantha Steele
ESPN and ESPN2 Friday Carter Blackburn Rod Gilmore Jemele Hill
ABC Saturday Afternoon Sean McDonough Chris Spielman Quint Kessenich
ABC Saturday Afternoon Mike Patrick Ed Cunningham Jeannine Edwards
ABC Saturday Afternoon Bob Wischusen Danny Kanell Maria Taylor
ESPN College Football (Saturday afternoon) Dave Pasch Brian Griese Jenn Brown
ESPN2 College Football (Saturday afternoon) Beth Mowins Joey Galloway
ESPNU Saturday Afternoon Tom Hart John Congemi
ESPNU Saturday Afternoon Anish Shrof Dan Hawkins
ESPNU Thursday (HBCU) Joe Davis Jay Walker  
ESPNU Late Saturday (HBCU) Joe Davis Jay Walker
ESPN Radio Bill Rosinski David Norrie Joe Schad
SEC Network (ESPN Regional Television syndicated games) Dave Neal Andre Ware Cara Capuano
BIG EAST Network (ESPN Regional Television syndicated games) Eamon McAnaney David Diaz-Infante Paul Carcaterra