Changes at SMJ for 2010

The beginning of a new year brings with it a chance to evaluate what you’ve accomplished in the past and plan for what will come ahead.  That’s the case here at Sports Media Journal (SMJ).

I started SMJ in 2007 because I had an interest in the sports media industry and wanted to provide some insight into the people and organizations that make it up.

At first I took to blogging as a hobby but soon sought more.  Those of you who blog on a regular basis know that as satisfying as it is to share your thoughts with the online world, to make money off that effort takes hours of hard work.

I would spend many a day getting up at 4:30am to assemble links to sports media stories or work late at night catching up on the latest sports media news.  That’s not a complaint, it’s the reality of being a part-time blogger.

All this work, however, has not led to the outcome I had envisioned, at least not yet.  I have a demanding full-time job and a wife and daughter I adore.  Those interests always came first.  And they still do.

I expect some added work commitments coming my way in 2010. That, combined with the responsibilities I have to my family,  means something needs to take a back seat.  That something is Sports Media Journal.

Let me make it clear that I’m not shutting down the site.  I’m just significantly cutting back on how often I blog.  The only commitment I am making is to continue to produce the weekly Sports Media Weekly Podcast with my blogging buddy Ken Fang at Fang’s Bites.

Daily links to sports media stories will be suspended, as will other posts featuring news from the leagues and networks.  Please visit Fang’s Bites for that information.  Ken does it better than anyone else.

I may still post from time to time but there may also be stretches that the only post you’ll see will be the weekly podcast.

I wish this were not the case.   I would love to make SMJ my full time job.  If I am able to resurrect the site to where I can commit more time to it, I will do so.  If any of you would like to lend a hand and write for me, drop me a line.

I would not have been able to accomplish what I have here at SMJ without the understanding and support of my family.  They’ve put up with a lot from me and gave me the space to pursue my blogging interests.

I’ve  made many new friends and contacts along the way.  Being able to converse with those in the industry and getting the cooperation from the sports networks on stories I’ve written have lent this site some credibility.  Colleagues at other blogs have also been extremely supportive.

I also want to thank you, the loyal readers of SMJ.  I have tried my best to keep the site on the straight and narrow, sticking to issues and not straying toward innuendo and scandal.  I really do appreciate your support.

So for now it’s not goodbye, just see you later.  Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

